Summer Chic – Trash ‘N’ Treasure

Take me back to the sweet times
The hot nights
Everything is gonna be alright
In the summertime
Baby, in the summertime
That is where I’ll be1

Summer is the best season for outdoor entertaining. It’s the best time to host a barbeque with family and friends, sit under the pergola with a good book in one hand and a glass of wine in the other, or to dine under the stars….alfresco style!

P1030300

Over the summer break, we were given an outdoor daybed, ideal for relaxing and kicking back while soaking in the sunshine in the backyard patio. However, the daybed was one of those unique finds off the streets, as part of hard rubbish collection. It’s what professional designers would refer to as ‘vintage’ furniture. But to the everyday wannabe decorator like myself, the daybed was a random piece of trash with the potential to be one’s treasure!

In a nutshell, the daybed required some ‘tszujing up’, a pompous way of saying….a makeover. It’s no secret. I have an appreciation for all things arty farty. Unfortunately, I wasn’t blessed with artistic genes and I have very minimal creative talent. But it hasn’t stopped me from trying!

20130121_102522

After watching several episodes of Summer Home (see post titled Summer Home – Rustic Glam), hosted by Samantha Pynn and screened on Australia’s Lifestyle Home network, I thought I’d try my hand at applying her simple techniques to updating dated old furnishings. Turning the daybed from drab to fab became my pet project and I was on a mission. I was a do-it-yourselfer (DIY-er) on a budget!

P1030330

First, buying a mattress was essential and probably the easiest step in the process. The next stage was to add a touch of summer chic.  In line with Samantha’s approach, I thought of creating a slip cover for the mattress to inject some visual glam. I chose a black fabric for durability and for $10 a metre, the fabric was a bargain! Black was also a versatile shade that mixes well with other colours. After several days of sketching, developing a pattern and marking it out on material, it was all systems go and I began sewing the slip cover together. Sewing isn’t my forte and it was a process of trial and error, but I eventually made a cover that fit the mattress snugly.

P1030328

A simple style tip that Samantha uses for greater visual impact is to accessorise with accent pieces. In this instance, I opted for several throw pillows. I managed to purchase six cushions for under $50. Although, each was a combination of different textures and patterns, together they had a cohesive look in terms of the colour palette, shape and size. A unified theme is vital for the overall look to gel together.

Ultimately, it’s possible to update tired, ordinary second hand furniture pieces with a fresh look using practical measures that won’t break the bank. Adding a splash of colour, pattern and texture can provide a touch of understated casual chic.

Now, it’s time to chill out on the daybed and enjoy the sunshine with that glass of wine.

20130126_120825

Citations

1. “In the Summertime” – Thisty Merc, ‘Thirsty Merc’, Warner Music Australia, Ray Thistlethwayte

6 thoughts on “Summer Chic – Trash ‘N’ Treasure

    • Hahaha I loved it when Carson Kressley of Queer Eye for the Straight Guy made this word popular. I never knew how to spell it either. That’s the beauty of Google, Wikipedia and Urban Dictionary:)

    • Luckily our porch is under cover (for most parts). Being on a tight budget, the mattress or pillows are neither water proof. So, we’re making a DIY storage container to store the pillows when not in use. I’m still in the process of buying fabric that is outdoor friendly. The mattress cover I’ve just made is purely for aesthetics – sadly, it isn’t water proof – but, the fabric was a bargain.

    • Awwww, thanks so much! It’s great to sit back and know, I put some of this together. It’s not the best, but for my first time creating ‘a look’, I thought it wasn’t too bad. I’m looking forward to using my creativity in other projects around the house going forward lol!

Leave a Reply

